First-time home buyer in Nova Scotia: the 2026 guide
Every program, the real minimum down payment, closing costs by municipality and the steps from first conversation to keys, with a planner that shows the cash you need.
What help is there for first-time home buyers in Nova Scotia?
Five things stack. Save in a First Home Savings Account ($40,000 each, tax-free), borrow up to $60,000 from your RRSP, claim the $10,000 Home Buyers’ Amount, and take a 30-year insured mortgage. Nova Scotia adds DPAP, a 5% interest-free loan, or a 2% down credit-union pilot. Deed transfer tax still applies.
First-time home buyer programs in Nova Scotia, at a glance
Every first-time home buyer incentive Nova Scotia buyers can use today, federal and provincial, checked against the government page for each on . The federal items stack with each other and with either provincial program; the two provincial programs do not stack with each other.
| Program | What it gives you | Maximum | Repaid? | Income test? | First-time buyer only? | Best used for | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| First Home Savings AccountFederal | Tax-deductible contributions, tax-free growth and withdrawal | $8,000/yr, $40,000 lifetime, each | No | No | Yes, to open and to withdraw | Anyone a year or more from buying | Open |
| Home Buyers’ PlanFederal | Tax-free RRSP withdrawal for a home | $60,000 each | Yes, to your RRSP over 15 years | No | Yes (4-year test) | Buyers with RRSP savings | Open |
| Home Buyers’ AmountFederal | Non-refundable tax credit | $10,000 claim, about $1,400 off tax | No | No | Yes (4-year test) | Every eligible buyer, at tax time | Open |
| First-Time Home Buyers’ GST/HST RebateFederal | Rebate of the 5% federal part of HST on a new home | $50,000 | No | No | Yes | New builds under $1,500,000 | Agreements to end of 2030 |
| NS First-time Home Buyers’ RebateNova Scotia | Refund of 18.75% of the provincial HST on a new home | $3,000 | No | No | Yes (5-year test) | New builds; apply within 24 months | Open |
| 30-year insured amortizationFederal rule | A lower payment, so a higher qualifying price | 30 years (vs 25) | n/a | No | Yes, or any new build | Tight debt ratios | Since Dec 15, 2024 |
| Down Payment Assistance ProgramNova Scotia | Interest-free loan for the down payment | 5% of price, up to $28,500 | Yes, over 10 years | Under $145,000 | Yes | Buyers without the 5% | Open |
| First-time Homebuyers Program (pilot)Nova Scotia, via credit unions | 2–4% down, no mortgage insurance | Price to $570,000 (HRM) | It is a mortgage | Up to $200,000 | Yes | Resale buyers who can’t reach 5% | Pilot, open |
| First-Time Home Buyer IncentiveFederal | Shared-equity loan | — | — | — | — | — | Ended Mar 21, 2024 |
Swipe the table sideways on a phone.
How much cash do I need? First-time buyer planner
Enter a price, where the home is and the money you have. The planner works out the minimum down payment, the insured mortgage, deed transfer tax for that municipality and every closing cost, then compares the cash you need with the cash you have.
Want these numbers run against a real listing and the lenders that fit your file?
Book a free 15-minute call- Minimum down payment $20,000
- Deed transfer tax (1.5%) $6,000
- Legal, recording, title, tax certificate $1,625
$27,625 in cash before inspection and adjustments. The 4% insurance premium of $15,200 is added to the mortgage, not paid in cash. Deed transfer tax from the province’s July 2026 schedule; legal and title are typical ranges.
Who counts as a first-time home buyer?
There is no single definition. Each program writes its own test, and qualifying for one does not mean you qualify for the others. Most use a four-year look-back: did you live in a home that you, or your current spouse or common-law partner, owned? Owning a home is not the trigger; living in one you or your partner owned is.
| Program | The test | Spouse or partner | Relationship breakdown |
|---|---|---|---|
| FHSA (to open) | You did not live in a home you owned or jointly owned in the year you open it or the four calendar years before; homes abroad count | A home your spouse or partner owned also counts when you open it | No specific exception |
| FHSA (to withdraw) | No home you owned and lived in this year (ignoring the 30 days before the withdrawal) or the four years before | Your own home only | No specific exception |
| Home Buyers’ Plan | No home you lived in and owned this year (ignoring the 30 days before the withdrawal) or the four years before; homes abroad count | Your current spouse’s or partner’s home counts | Yes: living apart after a breakdown can qualify you again |
| Home Buyers’ Amount | No home you lived in that you owned, in or outside Canada, in the year of purchase or the four years before | Your spouse’s or partner’s home counts | No specific exception (a disability exception applies) |
| GST/HST rebate | At least one buyer, 18 or older, had not lived in a home they owned, in or outside Canada, in the year or four years before | The spouse’s or partner’s home counts | No specific exception |
| NS HST rebate | The new home is the first house you have owned and occupied in Canada in the last five years | Not stated | Not stated |
| DPAP | Never owned a home, or not lived in one owned by you or your partner in the last four years | Current spouse, common-law partner or cohabitant | Yes: a past owner after a marriage or common-law breakdown qualifies |
| 2% down pilot | No home owned in the last four years | Assessed by the credit union | Assessed by the credit union |
| 30-year amortization | At least one borrower has never bought a home in Canada, or has not lived in one they or their partner owned in Canada in the current or four previous years; or the home is a new build | One qualifying borrower is enough | Yes, after 90 days living apart |
Common situations
- You owned a home years ago. If you have not lived in a home you or your current partner owned for the four-year window, you are generally a first-time buyer again for the FHSA, HBP, Home Buyers’ Amount and DPAP. Count the window carefully: the federal tests use calendar years.
- Your spouse owned a home. If you lived in it together during the window, the federal tests usually fail for both of you. If your spouse owns a home you never lived in, read each test; the FHSA looks at a home your spouse owned and you lived in.
- Separation or divorce. The Home Buyers’ Plan and DPAP both have relationship-breakdown rules that can restore eligibility. Buying out a former partner →
- You own a rental you never lived in. The federal tests turn on living in a home you owned, so an investment property alone does not usually disqualify you. DPAP also asks whether you have ever owned a home, so ask the province before you rely on it.
- You owned and lived in a home outside Canada. It counts against you for the FHSA, the HBP, the Home Buyers’ Amount and the GST rebate: CRA’s tests cover homes in or outside Canada. It does not count for the insurers’ 30-year amortization or the Nova Scotia HST rebate, which look at homes in Canada. New to Canada mortgages →
- Two first-time buyers together. Each can use their own FHSA and HBP; you share one Home Buyers’ Amount and one provincial program application.
- One first-time buyer and one past owner. The first-time buyer can still use their FHSA and HBP, and one first-time borrower is enough for the 30-year amortization and the GST rebate. The Home Buyers’ Amount fails if the partner’s home was lived in by both of you. DPAP tests everyone on the deed.
Minimum down payment in Canada, worked at five prices
The minimum is federal and the same in every province. It depends on the price, not on whether you are a first-time buyer: 5% of the first $500,000, 10% of the part from $500,000 to $1,500,000, and 20% at $1,500,000 or more, where mortgage insurance is not available. The $1,500,000 ceiling replaced $1,000,000 on December 15, 2024.
| Price | Minimum down | Share of price | Mortgage before insurance | Insurance required? | Premium | Insured loan |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| $300,000 | $15,000 | 5.00% | $285,000 | Yes, 95.00% LTV | $11,400 (4.00%) | $296,400 |
| $500,000 | $25,000 | 5.00% | $475,000 | Yes, 95.00% LTV | $19,000 (4.00%) | $494,000 |
| $750,000 | $50,000 | 6.67% | $700,000 | Yes, 93.33% LTV | $28,000 (4.00%) | $728,000 |
| $1,000,000 | $75,000 | 7.50% | $925,000 | Yes, 92.50% LTV | $37,000 (4.00%) | $962,000 |
| $1,600,000 | $320,000 | 20.00% | $1,280,000 | No: over $1,500,000, 20% down, uninsured | — | — |
Read the $750,000 row: 5% of the price would be $37,500, but the minimum is $50,000, because the $250,000 above $500,000 needs 10%. Above 20% down no insurance is needed at any price. Down payment and premium at every level →
First Home Savings Account (FHSA) for Nova Scotia buyers
The FHSA is the strongest tool a first-time buyer has: contributions are deductible like an RRSP, growth is tax-free, and a qualifying withdrawal is tax-free and never repaid.
- Limits: $8,000 a year, $40,000 lifetime, per person.
- Carry-forward: up to $8,000 of unused room moves to next year, so at most $16,000 in one year. Room starts only in the year you open your first FHSA: open one early, even with $1 in it.
- Deduction: claim it the year you contribute or carry it forward to a higher-income year.
- Who can open one: a Canadian resident, 18 or older (age of majority, 19, at most Nova Scotia institutions), and a first-time buyer under the FHSA test.
- Qualifying withdrawal: you are a first-time buyer at the time, have a written agreement to buy or build before October 1 of the following year, and intend to live in the home within a year.
- How long it lasts: up to 15 years from opening, or until the end of the year you turn 71, or the year after your first qualifying withdrawal.
- If you never buy: transfer the balance tax-free to an RRSP or RRIF, which does not use RRSP contribution room, or withdraw it as taxable income.
- With the HBP: both can be used on the same purchase.
Couples each have their own. There is no joint FHSA. If Buyer A has $20,000 and Buyer B has $15,000, both withdraw tax-free for the same home and the $35,000 goes to the down payment and closing costs together. On a $400,000 Halifax home that covers the $20,000 minimum and the $6,000 deed transfer tax with $9,000 left. CRA: First Home Savings Account →
Home Buyers’ Plan (HBP)
The HBP lets you take up to $60,000 per person out of your RRSP tax-free to buy or build a qualifying home (it was $35,000 before April 16, 2024). It is a loan from yourself: unlike an FHSA withdrawal, it must be paid back into your RRSP.
- The 90-day rule: CRA’s wording is that contributions made in the 89 days before the withdrawal may not be deductible, so let new money sit in the RRSP about three months first.
- Buy by: October 1 of the year after the year of the withdrawal.
- Repayment: over 15 years, a fifteenth a year. Normally it starts in the second year after the year of your first withdrawal. For a first withdrawal from 2022 to 2028, temporary relief pushes the start to the fifth year after: a first withdrawal in 2026 starts repaying in 2031. The 2026–2028 extension became law on June 19, 2026.
- Miss a payment: the amount you were required to repay and did not is added to your income for that year and taxed.
- Exceptions to the first-time test: a person with a disability (or buying for a related person with a disability), and a person living apart from a spouse or common-law partner because of a breakdown of the relationship.
Example: a couple using both. Two buyers each withdraw the $60,000 maximum and add $35,000 of FHSA savings: $155,000 in total. On a $650,000 Halifax home that is enough for 20% down ($130,000), which removes mortgage insurance and saves a $24,400 premium compared with the $40,000 minimum. Repayment is $8,000 a year between them for 15 years, starting in 2031 for a 2026 withdrawal. The FHSA part is never repaid. CRA: Home Buyers’ Plan →
Nova Scotia Down Payment Assistance Program (DPAP)
The province lends 5% of the purchase price, interest-free, toward the down payment, repaid in 120 monthly payments over 10 years and secured by a second mortgage. It is a loan, not a grant. The program is open and takes applications at any time.
| Household income | Under $145,000 |
|---|---|
| Price caps | $570,000 HRM and East Hants · $375,000 West Hants, Annapolis Valley, South Shore · $300,000 Yarmouth County, Northern and Eastern |
| Credit | 650+ for everyone on the deed |
| Residency | Canadian citizen or permanent resident living full time in Nova Scotia |
| Property | Your primary residence: detached, semi-detached, row house, condominium, or a mobile home permanently attached to land you own |
| Mortgage | An insured pre-approval from an NHA-approved lender, not a broker’s own letter |
| Timing | Apply with a signed offer, at least 3 weeks before your financing deadline; review within 10 business days |
The full DPAP guide and calculator →
Price limit for any municipality, your loan and monthly repayment, how to apply, documents and regional offices.
The Nova Scotia first-time home buyer program with 2% down (credit-union pilot)
Launched February 3, 2026, this provincial pilot lets a first-time buyer purchase with 2–4% down through Atlantic Central and participating Nova Scotia credit unions. There is no mortgage insurance premium; a provincial deficiency guarantee (90% of any shortfall) stands in for mortgage insurance at no cost to the buyer. Household income must be $200,000 or less, credit 630+, and the price at most $570,000 in HRM and East Hants or $500,000 elsewhere. The credit union’s rate is capped at prime + 2%.
The province’s release puts the down payment at 2% and the program page at 2–4%; the credit union sets it on your file. Participating credit unions also report a 25-year maximum amortization, no new construction, and no borrowed down payment (gifts are fine). 47 buyers had used it by June 30, 2026. Participating: Acadian, Caisse populaire de Clare, Cape Breton, Coastal Financial, Credit Union Atlantic, East Coast, Glace Bay Central, iNova, Mosaik, New Waterford, Nova Scotia Teachers (Teachers Plus), St. Joseph’s, Sydney, Valley.
It does not stack with DPAP, and a broker cannot originate it: you apply at a participating credit union. On $400,000 outside HRM, 2% down is $8,000 with no premium, against $20,000 down plus a $15,200 premium on the standard insured route. Province: First-time Homebuyers Program → · Which program you fit →
The first-time buyer tax credit in Canada: the Home Buyers’ Amount
A $10,000 claim on line 31270 of your return for the year you buy. That is the claim amount, not a cheque. It is a non-refundable credit, so it reduces federal tax by the lowest federal rate times the claim: at 14% for 2026, about $1,400, and only if you owe at least that much tax.
- Who qualifies: you did not live in another home, inside or outside Canada, that you or your spouse or common-law partner owned in the year of purchase or any of the four preceding years; a person with a disability buying a more accessible home qualifies regardless.
- Couples: the claim can be split between spouses or common-law partners, but the combined claim cannot exceed $10,000.
- Nova Scotia: Nova Scotia has no provincial first-time home buyer tax credit.
GST/HST rebates on a new home in Nova Scotia
Resale homes carry no HST. A new home from a builder, or a substantially renovated one, carries Nova Scotia’s 14% HST (since April 1, 2025): 5% federal and 9% provincial.
- First-Time Home Buyers’ GST/HST Rebate. Up to $50,000: the whole federal part on a home up to $1,000,000, phased down to nothing at $1,500,000. It covers a new or substantially renovated home bought from a builder, an owner-built home, or a share in a co-operative housing corporation. The agreement of purchase and sale with the builder must be signed on or after March 20, 2025 and before 2031, with construction starting before 2031 and finishing before 2036. It became law on March 12, 2026.
- Who: at least one buyer is 18 or older, a Canadian citizen or permanent resident, has not lived in a home (in or outside Canada) that they or their spouse or common-law partner owned in the calendar year or the four before, and neither has received this rebate before. The home is the primary place of residence of the buyer (or a related first-time buyer) and is the first one occupied after completion.
- How it is paid: builders can credit it at closing the same way as the GST/HST new housing rebate; otherwise apply to CRA (GST190, or GST191 if you build), generally within two years. Ask whether an advertised price already assumes it.
- Nova Scotia First-time Home Buyers’ Rebate. The province refunds 18.75% of the provincial part of the HST, up to $3,000, if the newly built home is the first house you have owned and occupied in Canada in the last 5 years (or it replaces one involuntarily destroyed in that time). It covers newly built single homes, condominiums, manufactured (mobile) homes and co-operative housing shares; not renovations; apply within 24 months of the sale. At 9% provincial HST the maximum is reached on a home of about $177,800 before tax. Province: First-time Home Buyers’ Rebate →
- The regular GST/HST New Housing Rebate (any buyer): 36% of the federal part, up to $6,300, in full to $350,000 and gone at $450,000. Few Nova Scotia new builds are priced low enough to see it.
New builds also open the 30-year insured amortization to any buyer. CRA: First-Time Home Buyers’ GST/HST Rebate → · Construction mortgages →
Mortgage default insurance (CMHC, Sagen, Canada Guaranty)
With less than 20% down, the mortgage must be insured against default. Three insurers write it: CMHC, Sagen and Canada Guaranty; your lender chooses and you never deal with them directly. The insurance protects the lender. You pay a one-time premium, a percentage of the mortgage, which is added to the mortgage rather than paid in cash, and Nova Scotia charges no sales tax on it (Quebec, Ontario and Saskatchewan — not Nova Scotia).
| Loan-to-value | Premium | On a $400,000 home |
|---|---|---|
| 80.01% – 85% | 2.80% | $9,520 on $340,000 |
| 85.01% – 90% | 3.10% | $11,160 on $360,000 |
| 90.01% – 95% | 4.00% | $15,200 on $380,000 |
| 90.01% – 95% (non-traditional down payment) | 4.50% | $17,100 on $380,000 |
- Price ceiling: under $1,500,000 since December 15, 2024.
- Amortization: 25 years, or 30 for first-time home buyers buying any home, and anyone buying a newly built home.
- Qualifying: at the greater of the contract rate plus 2% and 5.25%, with debt ratios under 39% and 44%, and at least one borrower at 600+.
Worked example. $500,000 with $25,000 down: the mortgage is $475,000, 95% of the price, so the premium is 4%, $19,000. The lender advances $494,000, and the payment at 4.45% over 25 years is about $2,720 a month. Over 30 years the premium is 4.20% and the payment about $2,481. Glossary: default insurance →
How lenders approve a first-time buyer mortgage in Nova Scotia
Lenders look at your whole file, not one number:
- Income: what you can prove. Salaried income from a letter and pay stubs; hourly, commission, bonus and self-employed income usually as a two-year average.
- Employment: being past probation helps; a new job in the same field usually counts.
- Credit: score and history; see credit.
- Down payment and its source: enough, and traceable.
- Debts: every monthly payment: car, student loan, credit cards (often 3% of the balance), lines of credit, support.
- Housing costs: property tax, heat and half of any condo fee are added to the mortgage payment.
- The stress test: the payment is calculated at the greater of the contract rate plus 2% and 5.25%, not your rate. Glossary →
- Amortization: a longer one lowers the payment, so raises the maximum.
Two ratios cap the result. GDS, gross debt service, is housing costs over gross income: at most 39% on an insured mortgage. TDS, total debt service, adds every other debt: at most 44%.
Mortgage qualification estimator
| Household income | Max price, 25 years | Max price, 30 years | Payment, 25 years |
|---|---|---|---|
| $70,000 | $305,400 | $323,400 | $1,507 |
| $90,000 | $400,000 | $421,100 | $2,044 |
| $110,000 | $490,600 | $521,200 | $2,581 |
| $140,000 | $631,200 | $650,000* | $3,386 |
Not sure how much home you can afford?
Get a mortgage pre-approval before you start shopping. It is free, takes 1–3 business days once your documents are in, and tells you the price a lender will actually support.
Closing costs in Nova Scotia for first-time buyers
Closing costs are paid in cash on top of the down payment and cannot be added to the mortgage. A rule of thumb like “2–3% of the price” hides what actually moves the number: in Nova Scotia that is deed transfer tax, set by each municipality.
| Cost | What it is | Typical amount | When |
|---|---|---|---|
| Deed transfer tax | Municipal tax on the deed; no first-time buyer exemption on the provincial schedule | 1.0–1.5% of the price (HRM 1.5%) | Closing |
| Non-resident deed transfer tax | Provincial, only for non-residents not moving here | 10% of the price | Closing |
| Legal fees | A lawyer is required to close in Nova Scotia | $850–$1,000 plus disbursements and HST | Closing |
| Recording fees | Registering the deed and the mortgage | $100 per document | Closing |
| Title insurance | Required by most lenders | Often under $300 below $500,000 | Closing |
| Tax certificate | Confirms property tax is paid | $125 in HRM | Closing |
| Home inspection | Your own check of the house | Get a quote; no published fee | During conditions |
| Appraisal | The lender’s check of value; often paid by the lender or insurer on insured files | Ask; no published fee | During conditions |
| Property tax adjustment | Repaying the seller for tax they prepaid | Depends on closing date | Closing |
| Fuel adjustment | Oil or propane left in the tank | Depends on the tank | Closing |
| Condo costs | Estoppel certificate, first month’s fee | Set by the condo corporation | Closing |
| Moving and utilities | Truck, hook-ups, deposits | Your quotes | Around closing |
| Mortgage insurance premium | Added to the mortgage; no sales tax in Nova Scotia | 2.8%–4% of the mortgage | Not cash |
The planner above prices all of this for your municipality. Closing cost calculator → · Every closing cost, who pays and when → · The property tax jump after you buy →
How to buy a house in Nova Scotia, step by step
- Understand your budget. Add up income, every monthly debt payment, your credit position and the savings you can document.
- Get pre-approved. A lender reviews your documents and credit, sets a maximum and holds a rate, typically 90–120 days.
- Find a realtor and start shopping. Shop at or below the pre-approved price, and under any program cap you plan to use.
- Make an offer. Price, deposit, financing and inspection conditions, and a closing date that fits your program timeline.
- Get final mortgage approval. The lender reviews the property and updated documents, orders any appraisal, and issues a commitment.
- Close with your lawyer. Down payment and closing costs go to your lawyer; the deed and mortgage are registered.
- Get the keys. Closing day: funds move, title transfers, and the keys are yours.
What happens at each step
1. Budget. Income you can prove, every monthly payment, your credit report from Equifax and TransUnion, and the savings you can trace for 90 days. Open an FHSA now if you have not.
2. Pre-approval. Documents in, credit pulled, a maximum price at the qualifying rate and a rate hold, typically 90–120 days depending on the lender. It is not a final approval. How pre-approval works →
3. Realtor and shopping. A buyer’s agent writes the offer and negotiates; the mortgage is separate. Shop under your pre-approval and under any program cap, and ask about the oil tank, wood stove and well early. Oil tanks, wells and wood heat →
4. Offer. Price, deposit (held in trust), a financing condition long enough for your lender and any DPAP review, an inspection condition, and a closing date.
5. Final approval. The lender reviews the property (and an appraisal if it orders one), re-verifies income and the down payment, and issues a commitment with conditions. Once they are met you waive the financing condition. How long each stage takes →
6. Lawyer. You bring the down payment and closing costs; the lender sends the mortgage funds; you sign; the lawyer pays the seller and registers the deed and mortgage.
7. Keys. On closing day, usually 30 to 60 days after the accepted offer.
Pre-qualification, pre-approval and final approval
| What is checked | Pre-qualification | Pre-approval | Final approval (commitment) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Income | What you say | Documents reviewed | Verified, sometimes again |
| Credit | Not usually pulled | Pulled | Current at approval |
| Down payment | What you say | Statements reviewed | 90-day history traced |
| Property | None | None yet | Reviewed; appraisal if ordered |
| Rate | None | Often held, period set by the lender | Locked to closing |
| Can you rely on it? | As a rough budget | As a shopping ceiling | Yes, subject to its conditions |
The trap is treating a pre-approval as an approval of the house. The lender has not seen the property, and it will check income, credit and the down payment again. A rate hold protects the rate, for a period that varies by lender and product; it does not lock your approval. Glossary: pre-approval →
Where your down payment can come from
- Savings and investments: the simplest; a 90-day history.
- FHSA: a qualifying withdrawal, tax-free.
- RRSP via the HBP: up to $60,000 each.
- A gift: from immediate family, non-repayable, with a signed gift letter. Gift letter →
- Sale of an asset: a car or other property, with the bill of sale and the deposit.
- DPAP: the province’s 5% loan.
- Inheritance: with the estate documents.
- Borrowed: some insurers accept a borrowed down payment on 95% financing at a higher premium (4.5% at CMHC) with a stronger credit file; the loan payment counts in your TDS.
- Equity in another property: for buyers who own land or another property, with the mortgage or line documents.
Whatever the source, lenders and insurers need a paper trail: account statements showing the money for about 90 days, and an explanation and proof for any large deposit. Cash that appears without a trail is the most common thing that delays a first-time file.
Documents to prepare
Income
- Employment letter (position, salary, hire date, status)
- Two recent pay stubs
- T4s and Notices of Assessment, last two years
- T1 returns, if self-employed or commissioned
Down payment
- 90 days of bank and investment statements
- FHSA and RRSP statements
- Signed gift letter, if any
- Proof of the deposit paid
Property
- Accepted Agreement of Purchase and Sale
- MLS listing
- Property tax figure
- Condo documents, if a condo
Identification
- Government-issued photo ID
- Permanent resident card or work permit, if applicable
Requirements vary by borrower and lender. The full documents checklist, by lender type →
Credit: what matters, and what doesn’t
Credit scores in Canada run from 300 to 900, reported by Equifax and TransUnion. A score is one input. Lenders and insurers also read what sits behind it, and no score guarantees an approval:
- Payment history: on-time payments matter most; recent lates matter more than old ones.
- Utilization: balances well under the limits help.
- Collections: usually paid before closing, with proof.
- Consumer proposals and bankruptcies: discharge and re-established credit come first; alternative lenders can act sooner. When the bank says no →
- Recent inquiries: several new credit applications just before a mortgage raise questions.
- History length: a thin file can still work, especially for newcomers.
Minimums that are published: 600 for at least one borrower on a CMHC-insured mortgage, 650 for DPAP and 630 for the credit-union pilot. Lenders set their own above these.
The myth: “only first-time buyers can put 5% down”
Not true. The 5% minimum comes from the insured-mortgage rules, and those depend on the price (under $500,000 for a flat 5%), on owner occupancy (you or a relative live there), on the number of units (1–2 units at 5%, 3–4 at 10%), and on the borrower qualifying. A repeat buyer purchasing a $400,000 home to live in can put $20,000 down exactly as a first-time buyer can. What first-time status adds is the 30-year amortization on a resale home, and the programs above. A rental you will not live in needs 20% down.
Buying different property types
- Detached, semi-detached and townhouses: the standard case.
- Condominiums: half the condo fee counts in GDS, and the lender reads the condo documents and reserve fund.
- Duplexes: live in one unit and the minimum is the same as a house; part of the second unit’s rent can count as income (100% under CMHC’s approach).
- Triplexes and fourplexes: owner-occupied, 10% down minimum, with rental income counted at 50% under CMHC’s approach. Investment property, 1–4 units →
- New construction: the GST rebate, the 30-year amortization for any buyer, and a draw or completion mortgage. Construction mortgages →
- Mini-homes: a mortgage if permanently affixed to land you own. Mini-home mortgages →
Five units or more is commercial lending, handled at Indi Capital.
First-time home buyer in Halifax
Buying your first home in Halifax, Dartmouth and Bedford
HRM is where the programs and prices pull hardest against each other. The August 2026 Halifax-Dartmouth average was $592,675, so the minimum down payment on a typical home is $34,268, because 10% applies above $500,000. Deed transfer tax is 1.5% everywhere in the municipality, $8,890 at the average, and the tax certificate is $125.
Both provincial programs reach their highest cap here: DPAP lends up to $28,500 on a home to $570,000, and the 2% down pilot accepts prices to $570,000. Both caps sit below the regional average, so in HRM they fit homes priced under the typical sale, not the typical home. A first-time buyer mortgage in Halifax above those caps is the standard insured route, often with a 30-year amortization to bring the payment into the ratios. NSAR publishes prices by region, not neighbourhood. Halifax · Dartmouth · Bedford · Sackville · All of HRM
Worked first-time buyer examples
All figures are estimates from the rules on this page: CMHC premiums, deed transfer tax from the province’s schedule, legal $1,000, recording $200, title $300, payments at the chartered-bank prime rate, Bank of Canada, 2026-09-30 (4.45%). Inspection and adjustments are left out because they vary by house.
Example 1: $350,000 in Truro, single buyer with an FHSA
| Minimum down payment | $17,500 |
|---|---|
| Mortgage before insurance (95% LTV) | $332,500 |
| Insurance premium (4.00%) | $13,300 |
| Total mortgage | $345,800 |
| Payment, 25 years / 30 years | $1,904 / $1,737 |
| Closing costs (Truro deed transfer tax 1.5% = $5,250) | $6,750 |
| Cash required | $24,250 |
| From FHSA $20,000 + savings $5,000 | $750 left |
Three years of FHSA contributions cover most of this purchase tax-free. Mortgage broker in Truro →
Example 2: $500,000 in Halifax, 5% down with a family gift
| Minimum down payment | $25,000 |
|---|---|
| Mortgage before insurance | $475,000 |
| Insurance premium (4.00%) | $19,000 |
| Total mortgage / payment | $494,000 / $2,720 |
| Closing costs (HRM 1.5% = $7,500) | $9,125 |
| Cash required | $34,125 |
| From savings $22,000 + gift $15,000 | $2,875 left |
At exactly $500,000 the minimum is still a flat 5%; one dollar more and 10% applies to the excess. Halifax · Dartmouth · Bedford
Example 3: a couple combining FHSAs and the Home Buyers’ Plan
| FHSAs: Buyer A $20,000 + Buyer B $15,000 | $35,000 |
|---|---|
| HBP: $60,000 each | $120,000 |
| Total registered savings | $155,000 |
| 20% down on $650,000 in HRM | $130,000 |
| Mortgage (uninsured, no premium) | $520,000 |
| Closing costs (HRM 1.5% = $9,750) | $11,375 |
| Left after down payment and closing | $13,625 |
| HBP repayment, combined | $8,000 a year for 15 years |
With the minimum $40,000 down instead, the premium would be $24,400. With 20% down the mortgage is uninsured, so the lender, not an insurer, sets the amortization and qualifying rules.
Example 4: a DPAP buyer at $300,000 in Cape Breton
| DPAP loan (5%, under the $300,000 cap) | $15,000 |
|---|---|
| Mortgage before insurance | $285,000 |
| Premium: 4% standard / 4.5% if treated as borrowed | $11,400 / $12,825 |
| DPAP repayment | $125 a month for 10 years |
| Closing costs (CBRM 1.5% = $4,500), paid by you | $6,000 |
| Cash you bring, from $7,000 of savings | $6,000 ($1,000 left) |
DPAP covers the down payment only; closing costs are yours. Run DPAP for your municipality → · Sydney · Cape Breton
Example 5: a new build in HRM, $560,000 before tax
| Federal part of HST (5%) | $28,000 |
|---|---|
| First-Time Home Buyers’ GST/HST Rebate | −$28,000 |
| Provincial part of HST (9%) | $50,400 |
| Price after the rebate | $610,400 |
| Minimum down payment | $36,040 |
| Insured mortgage, 25 years (4.00%) | $597,334 · $3,290/mo |
| Insured mortgage, 30 years (4.20%) | $598,483 · $3,000/mo |
| Closing costs (HRM 1.5% on the $560,000 pre-tax price) | $10,025 |
| NS First-time Home Buyers’ Rebate, refunded after you apply | $3,000 |
The federal rebate saves $28,000 here, usually credited by the builder in the price; the provincial rebate adds $3,000 back later, if you qualify under its five-year test. Deed transfer tax is charged on the price excluding HST and the rebate, as the province’s Affidavit of Value form instructs.
Programs that have ended
- First-Time Home Buyer Incentive (federal shared-equity loan): closed to new applications on March 21, 2024 (no approvals after March 31, 2024); existing incentives are repaid after 25 years or on sale. Older articles still list it.
- The $1,000,000 insured price cap and the 25-year limit for first-time buyers on resale homes: replaced on December 15, 2024 by $1,500,000 and 30 years.
- The $35,000 Home Buyers’ Plan limit: raised to $60,000 on April 16, 2024.
- The $5,000 Home Buyers’ Amount: doubled to $10,000 from the 2022 tax year.
Have a question that isn’t answered here? Fifteen minutes on the phone usually settles it.
Book a free call with RileyOfficial sources
Program rules change; the government pages are the final word. Every figure on this page was checked against them on .
- CRA: First Home Savings Account
- CRA: Home Buyers’ Plan and repaying the HBP
- CRA: Line 31270, Home Buyers’ Amount
- CRA: First-Time Home Buyers’ GST/HST Rebate
- Department of Finance: mortgage reforms effective December 15, 2024
- CMHC: mortgage loan insurance premiums · CMHC Purchase
- OSFI: minimum qualifying rate
- Province of Nova Scotia: Down Payment Assistance Program and program guide
- Province of Nova Scotia: First-time Homebuyers Program
- Province of Nova Scotia: municipal deed transfer tax rates (July 2026)
Changes
- : guide published; every program rule verified against CRA, the Department of Finance, CMHC and the Province of Nova Scotia. Replaces the earlier programs comparison page.
Why a broker
Licensed, independent, paid by the lender
- Licensed in Nova Scotia Associate broker 3001134, verifiable on the provincial register
- $0 broker fee On a standard residential mortgage the lender pays, not you
- Banks, credit unions, monolines One application, one credit check, placed with the lender that reads your file best
- Every part of the province Bedford office, remote process: Yarmouth to Sydney, the same four steps
First-time buyer questions people ask
How much do first-time home buyers need for a down payment in Nova Scotia?
At least 5% of the first $500,000 of the price and 10% of the part between $500,000 and $1,500,000; at $1,500,000 or more it is 20%. On a $400,000 home that is $20,000. Nova Scotia's credit-union pilot accepts 2–4% down, and DPAP can lend the 5%.
What programs are available for first-time home buyers in Nova Scotia?
Federally: the First Home Savings Account, the Home Buyers' Plan, the Home Buyers' Amount tax credit, the First-Time Home Buyers' GST/HST Rebate on new homes and 30-year insured amortizations. Provincially: the Down Payment Assistance Program (a 5% interest-free loan), the First-time Homebuyers Program pilot (2–4% down through credit unions) and a rebate of up to $3,000 of HST on a new home.
How does the FHSA work?
You contribute up to $8,000 a year, $40,000 in your lifetime, and deduct it like an RRSP contribution. Growth is tax-free, and a qualifying withdrawal for a first home is tax-free and never repaid. Up to $8,000 of unused room carries forward, but room only starts once the account is open.
How much can I withdraw from my RRSP to buy a first home?
Up to $60,000 per person under the Home Buyers' Plan, since April 16, 2024. Contributions made in the 89 days before the withdrawal may not be deductible. You repay it to your RRSP over 15 years; for a first withdrawal in 2026 repayment starts in 2031. A missed repayment is added to your taxable income.
Can I use the FHSA and the Home Buyers’ Plan together?
Yes, on the same purchase, as long as you meet each one's conditions. One person can use up to $40,000 from an FHSA plus growth, and $60,000 from an RRSP; a couple can do both twice.
Does Nova Scotia help with down payments?
Yes. The Down Payment Assistance Program lends 5% of the price interest-free over 10 years if household income is under $145,000 and the price is under a regional cap ($570,000 in HRM and East Hants). The First-time Homebuyers Program pilot lets you buy with 2–4% down through a participating credit union.
What is DPAP?
The Nova Scotia Down Payment Assistance Program: a provincial loan, not a grant, of 5% of the purchase price toward a first-time buyer's down payment, repaid in 120 interest-free monthly payments. It needs an insured mortgage pre-approval, a 650+ credit score and household income under $145,000.
Do first-time buyers pay deed transfer tax in Nova Scotia?
Yes. Deed transfer tax is set by each municipality, from 1% to 1.5%, and the province's schedule lists no first-time buyer exemption. Halifax charges 1.5%: $6,000 on a $400,000 home. It is paid in cash on closing.
How much are closing costs in Nova Scotia?
Mostly deed transfer tax (1.0–1.5% of the price), plus legal fees of about $850–$1,000, $100 per recorded document, title insurance, an inspection and adjustments. On $400,000 in Halifax, about $7,625 before inspection and adjustments, on top of the down payment.
What credit score do I need to buy a house in Nova Scotia?
There is no single number. CMHC requires at least one borrower at 600 or higher on an insured mortgage, DPAP asks 650 for everyone on the deed and the credit-union pilot 630. Lenders and insurers also weigh payment history, how much of your limits you use and any collections.
How much mortgage can I afford?
Lenders cap housing costs at 39% of gross income and all debts at 44%, using a payment at the qualifying rate (the greater of the contract rate plus 2% and 5.25%). With $100,000 of income, $400 of other debt and $30,000 down, the estimate is about $433,700. The estimator on this page runs your figures.
Can I buy a home with 5% down?
Yes, on a home under $500,000 that you will live in, with an insured mortgage. Above $500,000 the minimum rises because 10% applies to the part over $500,000, and at $1,500,000 or more you need 20%. It is not reserved for first-time buyers.
Can two people combine first-time buyer programs?
Mostly yes. Each eligible buyer can have an FHSA ($40,000 lifetime each) and use the Home Buyers' Plan ($60,000 each). The Home Buyers' Amount is shared: $10,000 in total, split as you like. DPAP and the credit-union pilot are one per household.
Can my parents gift my down payment?
Yes. Insurers accept a non-repayable gift from an immediate family member. Lenders want a signed gift letter saying it does not have to be repaid, and proof the money reached your account before closing.
Can I buy a duplex as a first-time buyer?
Yes. If you live in one unit, a 2-unit home can be bought with the same minimum as a house, and a 3–4 unit home with 10% down. Insured lenders can count up to 100% of the other unit's rent on a 2-unit home.
Can I use rental income to qualify for a mortgage?
Yes, on an owner-occupied 2–4 unit home. Under CMHC's approach up to 100% of gross rent from the second unit of a 2-unit home can be added to income, and 50% on 3–4 units; uninsured lenders set their own rules. A signed lease or an appraiser's market-rent figure supports it.
Can self-employed people qualify as first-time buyers?
Yes. Programs care about home ownership, not how you earn. Lenders usually want two years of Notices of Assessment and T1 returns; CMHC's self-employed program has its own document rules. A shorter history can work with more down or an alternative lender.
How long does mortgage approval take?
A pre-approval takes about 1–3 business days once documents are in. After an accepted offer, a firm commitment usually takes 5–10 business days, including any appraisal. DPAP needs its application in at least 3 weeks before your financing deadline.
How long does a mortgage pre-approval last?
The rate hold is set by each lender and product; 90–120 days is typical. The hold protects a rate, not the approval itself: income, credit and the property are checked again once you have an accepted offer.
What documents do I need for a mortgage?
Government ID, a recent employment letter and pay stubs, two years of T4s or Notices of Assessment, 90 days of statements for every account the down payment comes from, any gift letter, FHSA or RRSP statements, and later the accepted offer and listing. Self-employed and newcomer files need more.
Can I buy a house with student loan debt?
Yes. The monthly payment counts in your total debt service ratio (44% cap), so it reduces the price you qualify for, but it does not disqualify you. A loan in repayment assistance or in arrears is treated differently; bring the latest statement.
Can I buy a home after a consumer proposal?
Often, yes, but rarely the day it ends. Prime lenders and insurers usually want the proposal paid and discharged and new credit re-established for some time; alternative lenders can act sooner with more down. Timing depends on the lender and insurer.
Can I buy as a first-time buyer if my spouse already owned a home?
It depends on the program. The federal tests look at whether you lived in a home owned by you or your current spouse in the four-year window, so living in your spouse's home can disqualify you both. For the 30-year amortization, one first-time borrower is enough.
What taxes do I pay when buying a home in Nova Scotia?
Municipal deed transfer tax of 1.0–1.5% on every purchase, the 10% non-resident provincial deed transfer tax if it applies, 14% HST on new homes (with up to $50,000 federal and $3,000 provincial first-time buyer rebates), and HST on legal fees. Nova Scotia charges no sales tax on the mortgage insurance premium.
Is mortgage default insurance bad?
It is a cost, not a trap. The premium, 4% of the mortgage at 5% down, protects the lender, not you, and is added to the mortgage. In exchange you can buy with less than 20% down, and insured mortgages often get the lowest rates.
Can I get a 30-year mortgage as a first-time buyer?
Yes. Since December 15, 2024, first-time buyers can take a 30-year amortization on an insured mortgage for any home, new or resale, and anyone can on a newly built home. The insurer adds 0.20 percentage points to the premium.
How does the mortgage stress test work?
You must qualify at the greater of the contract rate plus 2% and 5.25%, even though you pay the contract rate. At a 4.45% contract rate you qualify at 6.45%. It applies to insured and uninsured mortgages from federally regulated lenders.
What happens after my offer is accepted?
Your lender reviews the property and updated documents, may order an appraisal, and issues a commitment, usually within 5–10 business days. You satisfy the conditions, your lawyer searches title, collects the down payment and closing costs, and registers the deed and mortgage on closing day.
Still unsure? Ask me directly.
If your question isn't here, your situation is probably specific. Fifteen minutes on the phone beats reading another page, and nothing is pulled on your credit.
(902) 298-0218 · Monday to Friday, 9:00 am to 5:00 pm Atlantic
Buying your first home in Nova Scotia?
A free 15-minute call covers how much you may qualify for, your minimum down payment, which programs you fit, an FHSA and Home Buyers’ Plan plan, DPAP eligibility, closing costs, rates and which lenders suit your file. No cost and no credit check to talk.
(902) 298-0218 · Monday to Friday, 9:00 am to 5:00 pm Atlantic